Skip to main content
All CollectionsConsultations
The autosave function
The autosave function

This article will give you information about the autosave function.

C
Written by Cindy
Updated over a week ago

This article is dedicated to exploring the autosave function within Semble. Here, we'll delve into understanding how this feature functions and how you can easily trigger it to optimise your experience.

This function is automatically switched on for all users and cannot be switched off.


What is the autosave function?

Autosave is a saving function which automatically saves the current changes or progress, intending to prevent data loss should the user be otherwise prevented from doing so manually by a crash, freeze or user error.

Note: Kindly be aware that autosaved consultations are no different than manually saved consultations.

This new feature also introduces a new sticky toolbar to the consultations edit page, enabling users to track the autosave status (autosaving, unsaved changes or autosave up to date), and you can now see the “Select Clinician” dropdown in the toolbar, keeping it visible and accessible at all times:

Helpful Vocabulary :

Autosaving: Semble is attempting to autosave the user's changes

Unsaved Changes: There are unsaved changes that failed to autosave.

Autosave up to date: The consultation is up to date with all the changes made.

Consultation: A set of records

Record: A single record in consultation (i.e. Problem heading record, product, medication etc.)

What triggers autosave?

Users can trigger autosave by making changes to a consultation note. These changes include:

Typing in input fields

Selecting an option from a dropdown or date picker

Confirming a drawing (i.e. Record type: Diagram)

Confirming a signature

Deleting a record

Deleting a section

Adding a record

Selecting and deselecting options from checkboxes / radio buttons (i.e. Record types: Single Choice Questions & Multiple Choice Questions)

Troubleshooting different scenarios:

Scenario 1: Create a consultation

​If the user makes a change to any of the fields in the current template or add a new record to the current template by clicking one of the bottom tags, autosave gets triggered and the consultation gets created.

This results in creation of a new “Consultation: Created” trail. If the user stays in the same session (does not navigate away) and keep updating the consultation, no more trails are going to be created.

Please note that the consultation will be marked as autosaved until the user clicks on “Save” button.

Scenario 2: Update a record in an existing consultation

If the user makes a change to any of the fields in an existing consultation, autosave gets triggered and that specific record gets updated. This results in creation of a new “Record: Updated” trail that shows what’s changed for that record.

If the user stays in the same session (does not navigate away from the page) and keeps updating the record, no more trails are going to be created.

Please note that the consultation will be marked as autosaved until the user clicks on “Save” button.

Scenario 3: Add a new record to an existing consultation

If the user adds a new record to an existing consultation, autosave gets triggered and the record gets created.

This results in creation of a new “Record: Created” trail.

If the user stays in the same session (does not navigate away from the page) and keeps updating the record, no more trails are going to be created.

Please note that the consultation will be marked as autosaved until the user clicks on “Save” button.

Scenario 4: Delete a record from an existing consultation

If the user deletes a record from an existing consultation, autosave gets triggered and the record gets deleted.

This results in creation of a new “Record: Deleted” trail.

Scenario 5: Delete a section from an existing consultation

If the user deletes a section from an existing consultation, autosave gets triggered and all the records within that section get deleted.

This results in creation of a new “Section: Deleted” trail.

Scenario 6: Update consultation details (Encounter Type, Doctor, Date)

If the user makes a change to encounter type, doctor or date, autosave gets triggered and all the records within the consultation get updated.

This results in creation of a new “Consultation: Updated” trail that shows what’s changed for the mentioned fields.

Please note that the consultation will be marked as autosaved until the user clicks on “Save” button.

Scenario 7: Click on the “Save” button

If the user clicks on the “Save” button before the consultation is created, it creates the consultation with the records in the active template.

If the user clicks on the “Save” button in an existing consultation that’s already created, it only removes the autosaved state from the records.

Scenario 8: Changing consultation templates

The users can switch consultation templates unless they made any changes on the active template.

Once they make a change by either updating a record in a template or creating a new record by clicking one of the tags, autosave gets triggered, a consultation gets created and the page goes into “edit mode”, so the user will no longer be able to switch consultation templates.

Here is an example:

You can select the template you wish to edit from the dropdown menu :

After making any changes, the dropdown menu will no longer be visible as the system enters edit mode:

Scenario 9: Autosave as a non-clinician

If the user is a non-clinician and there’s no other clinician with “allow others to write consultations on my behalf” option ticked, the dropdown for “Select clinician” will not be visible and autosave actions will be automatically assigned to the current user.

If the user is a non-clinician and there are other clinicians with “allow others to write consultations on my behalf” option ticked, the dropdown for “Select clinician” will be populated with the current user and all the other doctors that he/she can create consultations on behalf.

Please note that if the “Select clinician” dropdown is visible, its default will always be set to the current user.

If you need further assistance, please email support@semble.io for more information.

Did this answer your question?